Notice - There are less than 3 weeks left until our annual server lease is due for renewal - and we are currently at 93% of funds needed to renew.
Please donate to help keep this site running -- donate here.

Call for Donations - All new donations go towards our 2014-2015 operating expenses. Please consider an ANNUAL donation to help keep this site operating. Click here to Donate

Photo

Torx Sockets & the Porsche?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 sullivas

sullivas

Contributing Member

• Contributing Members
  • 68 posts
Neutral

Posted December 16, 2009 - 02:11 PM

I'm a noob with my new-to-me 997. I have a vast collection of tools however no torx sockets. Does anyone know if standard USA torx sockets will fit the Porsche or is there a different type of Torx I need to get? Thanks.

#2 70Sixter

70Sixter

Contributing Member

• Contributing Members
  • 719 posts
Neutral

Posted December 16, 2009 - 02:17 PM

Torx is torx.

Mike
70 914-6 black over tan
04 Boxster S basalt/savanna, 6 spd, 18" Carrera lights, hard top, litronics
PCA since 1970

#3 PAULSPEED

PAULSPEED

Contributing Member

• Contributing Members
  • 1,440 posts
Excellent

Posted December 16, 2009 - 02:37 PM

Get male torx sockets. The only female torx you need is the one for removing the seats. I think it is a 10. Paul

2006 997 S COUP / TIPTRONIC S / METALLIC SLATE GRAY / BOSE UPGRADE
SPORT CHRONO PACKAGE PLUS / SPEED YELLOW INSTRUMENT DIALS / 19" CARRERA SPORT WHEELS
LEATHER SPORT SEATS / REMOTE CD CHANGER / LEATHER SPORT STEERING WHEEL
SELF DIMMING MIRRORS / FIRE EXTINGUISHER

#4 sullivas

sullivas

Contributing Member

• Contributing Members
  • 68 posts
Neutral

Posted December 16, 2009 - 02:50 PM

There are some Torx head cap screws in the engine bay, the idler pully has one and some other assemblies have a mix of Allen type and Torx. Sorry forgot to mention it's a 2005 C2 Carrera.

#5 1schoir

1schoir

Contributing Member

• Contributing Members
  • 2,760 posts
Outstanding