Jump to content


Call for Donations - All new donations go towards our 2014 operating expenses. Please consider an ANNUAL donation to help keep this site operating. Click here to Donate

Photo

FOB Keys Boxster 2000


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 00boxster

00boxster

    Member

  • Members
  • 43 posts
  • From:australia
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted December 30, 2010 - 08:11 PM

Festive Greetings to all :D I am at the stage where I have to get a new key and fob. I would like to use one of the new 911 key fobs or even the GT both have been cited as possible replacement FOBs. I lost my original boxster key and the spare only remotely opens the doors 20% of the time so a new one is in order regardless. The single dealer we have here wants $291 for the original black FOB (my old one pictured) $42 for a blank key (which they can't cut??) plus $150 to reprogramme the new key (he did say I can BYO FOB as long as i have the code number) $483 plus I have to get someone to cut the key. I know I can get the standard black fob online for about half that cost, though i would prefer the 911 or GT FOB if it works. When I asked about the 911 or GT FOB he said NO If anyone is using a GT or 911 FOB on a Boxster 2000 can you let me know or point me in the right direction. Thanks and have a safe new years folks. Prices are in AU$ which is about the same as the US$ at the moment that is 1 for 1

Attached Thumbnails

  • forwebIMG_1099.jpg
  • 31122010305.jpg

  • 0

#2 Loren

Loren

    Porsche Nut

  • Admin
  • 28,044 posts
  • From:Roseville, CA
Reputation: 1,239
Outstanding

Posted December 30, 2010 - 08:32 PM

If you have a two button remote key I do not know why the two button 911 FOB would not work. Tool Pants might know for sure? You can swap the transponder pill from the old key and the metal blade from the old key and not have to pay for any programming or cutting. It is documented here and in a Porsche TSB.


  • 1

Loren

RennTech.org

PCA member since 1978

My Mods in the Registry


Has someone helped you with a good solution to your question(s)? If so, give them a reputation point by clicking the rep_up.png arrow at the bottom right corner of any post.


#3 goldenwarrior1

goldenwarrior1

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 284 posts
  • From:Virginia
Reputation: 7
Neutral

Posted December 31, 2010 - 09:50 AM

00Boxster, Swap will work fine, I did mine a few months ago. As Loren stated, just swap over the circuit card and pill and viola, you have a cool looking key fob. When you press the button to open the locks the "911" on the remote glows red. Kinda neat at night but then it doesn't take much to amuse me :rolleyes:


  • 1

#4 00boxster

00boxster

    Member

  • Members
  • 43 posts
  • From:australia
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted December 31, 2010 - 07:50 PM

00Boxster,

Swap will work fine, I did mine a few months ago. As Loren stated, just swap over the circuit card and pill and viola, you have a cool looking key fob. When you press the button to open the locks the "911" on the remote glows red. Kinda neat at night but then it doesn't take much to amuse me :rolleyes:




I actually need to get the 911 key with the guts in it (transmitter) as I have lost my original key.

Will the guts from the 911 work or do I still have to order a standard boxster FOB head and then transfer it to a 911 case?

When the dealer does the reprogram will they have to do both my old spare key and the new key? IE wil I get charges 2 x $150

Thanks :D

PS: I think I will get the GT key

Attached Thumbnails

  • 980-637-244-01b.jpg
  • 980-637-244-01a.jpg

Edited by 00boxster, December 31, 2010 - 07:52 PM.

  • 0

#5 goldenwarrior1

goldenwarrior1

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 284 posts
  • From:Virginia
Reputation: 7
Neutral

Posted January 02, 2011 - 10:02 AM

Will the guts from the 911 work or do I still have to order a standard boxster FOB head and then transfer it to a 911 case? - Yes the 2 button remote is the same for the 996/986. However, you need to make sure you have the IPAS codes or the dealer cannot reprogram. You can buy new ones from places other than the dealer but make sure you get the tags that come with as they have the codes necessary for reprogramming. When the dealer does the reprogram will they have to do both my old spare key and the new key? IE Will I get charges 2 x $150 - Yes, they will need to reprogram all the keys at once as reprogramming erases all the old info. labor charge is by the hour or partial hour if you exceed one hour. Most shops will have a one hour min. It only takes about 15 mins to program if the tech doesn't have any problems. Once you get the remotes back home you can pop the covers and swap the guts to your new FOB. BTW, people are funny about putting incorrect model designation parts on Porsches... a GT cost about 10 times what your car costs... Just saying... I sure don't care. Good luck, Tom


  • 0

#6 Loren

Loren

    Porsche Nut

  • Admin
  • 28,044 posts
  • From:Roseville, CA
Reputation: 1,239
Outstanding

Posted January 02, 2011 - 10:30 AM

However, you need to make sure you have the IPAS codes or the dealer cannot reprogram.


All authorized Porsche dealers/OPCs have access to IPAS codes.
  • 1

Loren

RennTech.org

PCA member since 1978

My Mods in the Registry


Has someone helped you with a good solution to your question(s)? If so, give them a reputation point by clicking the rep_up.png arrow at the bottom right corner of any post.


#7 goldenwarrior1

goldenwarrior1

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 284 posts
  • From:Virginia
Reputation: 7
Neutral

Posted January 02, 2011 - 11:59 AM

However, you need to make sure you have the IPAS codes or the dealer cannot reprogram.


All authorized Porsche dealers/OPCs have access to IPAS codes.


True, but a new key comes with a tag that has a 24 character code. (It may not be IPAS but that is what the dealer told me) If the key has been previously programmed by the dealer then you will most likely not need the numbers for the remote. When I had mine done recently the service manager told me to hang on to the tag with the number. Sometimes the 24 digit code is dropped from the computer and then cannot be reprogrammed. If he buys a key fob off of eBay, RT, RL etc. and doesn't get this tag, he will have wasted his money.
Tom
  • 0

#8 sliderr

sliderr

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 150 posts
  • From:holland nijmegen
Reputation: 3
Neutral

Posted January 03, 2011 - 12:20 PM



True, but a new key comes with a tag that has a 24 character code. (It may not be IPAS but that is what the dealer told me) If the key has been previously programmed by the dealer then you will most likely not need the numbers for the remote. When I had mine done recently the service manager told me to hang on to the tag with the number. Sometimes the 24 digit code is dropped from the computer and then cannot be reprogrammed. If he buys a key fob off of eBay, RT, RL etc. and doesn't get this tag, he will have wasted his money.
Tom


My dealer told me he needed a 16 digit number for my MY1997? is this correct or do i need a 24 number digit to reprogram the key to my car?
  • 0

#9 Loren

Loren

    Porsche Nut

  • Admin
  • 28,044 posts
  • From:Roseville, CA
Reputation: 1,239
Outstanding

Posted January 03, 2011 - 12:42 PM




True, but a new key comes with a tag that has a 24 character code. (It may not be IPAS but that is what the dealer told me) If the key has been previously programmed by the dealer then you will most likely not need the numbers for the remote. When I had mine done recently the service manager told me to hang on to the tag with the number. Sometimes the 24 digit code is dropped from the computer and then cannot be reprogrammed. If he buys a key fob off of eBay, RT, RL etc. and doesn't get this tag, he will have wasted his money.
Tom


My dealer told me he needed a 16 digit number for my MY1997? is this correct or do i need a 24 number digit to reprogram the key to my car?
The key unique number is 24 digits.
The IPAS immobilizer code is 16 digits.
Each transponder code is 8 digits.
  • 1

Loren

RennTech.org

PCA member since 1978

My Mods in the Registry


Has someone helped you with a good solution to your question(s)? If so, give them a reputation point by clicking the rep_up.png arrow at the bottom right corner of any post.


#10 tns4

tns4

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • From:San Antonio, TX
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted March 16, 2011 - 11:06 AM

does the "pill" have the code or the circuit board... or both? my circuit board is friedKeyfob1.JPG


Edited by tns4, March 16, 2011 - 11:06 AM.

  • 0

#11 tns4

tns4

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • From:San Antonio, TX
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted March 16, 2011 - 11:08 AM

does the "pill" have the code or the circuit board... or both? my circuit board is friedKeyfob1.JPG


  • 0

#12 1schoir

1schoir

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 2,746 posts
  • From:Freeport, New York
Reputation: 124
Outstanding

Posted March 16, 2011 - 09:09 PM

does the "pill" have the code or the circuit board... or both? my circuit board is friedKeyfob1.JPG


The "pill" controls starting the engine.

The circuit board controls the remote functions to open the door, trunk, etc...

Regards, Maurice.
  • 0

#13 Artic99

Artic99

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 9 posts
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted August 02, 2011 - 06:38 AM

Is there anywhere to source the circuit board only - I've got a new case, pill, cut key blade, but my circuit board is fried....


  • 0

#14 logray

logray

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 2,203 posts
  • From:Nor Cal
Reputation: 110
Outstanding

Posted August 02, 2011 - 07:34 AM

If you have a 1997 year Boxster, I have a couple for sale from a 1999 996 (also works on a 2000 996 or 1997 Boxster). They only have 1 button on them. I'm not 100% sure, but I don't think the boards will work in a two button unit. PM me if you have a 1997 year Boxster and are interested. Otherwise you could try a dismantler, such as http://www.dcautomotive.com or http://www.ladismantler.com.


  • 0

#15 blues3531

blues3531

    Member

  • Members
  • 33 posts
  • From:St. Louis
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted August 02, 2011 - 05:59 PM

They're charging you quite a bit. My certified Porsche dealer out in STL told me a new FOB for my 2000 Boxster would be about 200 and 50 to program...I'd search around and try to get a better deal.


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


The RennTech.org site is Member supported!   Make an ANNUAL donation to RennTech.org    Make an ANNUAL donation to RennTech.org