Jump to content

Server Lease Renewal/Software Licenses

Our yearly server lease, software licenses, as well as hardware operating costs, ARE due Dec 6th, 2021. Our current donations have fallen far short of the funds we need to renew. Please remember the RennTech.org community is Member supported so please consider a donation to help...  THANK YOU!

Welcome to RennTech.org Community, Guest

There are many great features available to you once you register at RennTech.org
You are free to view posts here, but you must log in to reply to existing posts, or to start your own new topic. Like most online communities, there are costs involved to maintain a site like this - so we encourage our members to donate. All donations go to the costs operating and maintaining this site. We prefer that guests take part in our community and we offer a lot in return to those willing to join our corner of the Porsche world. This site is 99 percent member supported (less than 1 percent comes from advertising) - so please consider an annual donation to keep this site running.

Here are some of the features available - once you register at RennTech.org

  • View Classified Ads
  • DIY Tutorials
  • Porsche TSB Listings (limited)
  • VIN Decoder
  • Special Offers
  • OBD II P-Codes
  • Paint Codes
  • Registry
  • Videos System
  • View Reviews
  • and get rid of this welcome message

It takes just a few minutes to register, and it's FREE

Contributing Members also get these additional benefits:
(you become a Contributing Member by donating money to the operation of this site)

  • No ads - advertisements are removed
  • Access the Contributors Only Forum
  • Contributing Members Only Downloads
  • Send attachments with PMs
  • All image/file storage limits are substantially increased for all Contributing Members
  • Option Codes Lookup
  • VIN Option Lookups (limited)

Did I wire this garage door opener correctly?


Recommended Posts

I installed a homemade garage door opener per instructions on this site, using a Targa switch as the button (for others with glossy switches, I sprayed the matte switch with clear acrylic to make it glossy). I wanted the button to illuminate with the lights on, and the only other switch near a blank was the PSM switch. To make a long story short, I figured out that the PSM switch (with its built-in yellow led indicator) is wired differently than the Targa switch, and I think I figured out the right leads for power to the light.

Targa used the two outside pins (#1 and #5, facing back of switch from left to right). PSM, I think, uses #2 and #3. Can anyone confirm that?

Car is a 2001 C2 Cab.

Edited by trauh
  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

The switch illumination LED is polarized. Make sure that you have it connected correctly to the power source. try reversing the leads to see if that works

I thought of trying to do what you are doing, but look under product here for the "Flash2Pass." I installed this in my car and now open the garage door by flashing my brights. A great solution and much easier that installing in the dash and modifying the switches. Also, it moves with you and can be used on just about any door as opposed to modifying a garage door opener from you current door. Just a thought.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I installed a homemade garage door opener per instructions on this site, using a Targa switch as the button (for others with glossy switches, I sprayed the matte switch with clear acrylic to make it glossy). I wanted the button to illuminate with the lights on, and the only other switch near a blank was the PSM switch. To make a long story short, I figured out that the PSM switch (with its built-in yellow led indicator) is wired differently than the Targa switch, and I think I figured out the right leads for power to the light.

Targa used the two outside pins (#1 and #5, facing back of switch from left to right). PSM, I think, uses #2 and #3. Can anyone confirm that?

Car is a 2001 C2 Cab.

I had the same problem until Del from Las Vegas helped me out. I pasted the entire discussion about the switch/lighting instructions...I hope this helps you as it did me. Del knows what he's talking about.

Jim

Switzerland

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mitty

I did the garage door mod and the non-smoker swap at the same time. The only problem is I think my switch is defective. It will not light up when I put power to the 2 outside prongs.

Darren, what switch did you use for the garage door? If you used the targa shade switch then I have a fix for you. It is not the switch that is bad, it is that it doesn't have a dedicated circuit like Jim said. You have 2 options. (1)become a expert quickly in electronic scematics and create the circuit after tearing the switch down......or (2)Buy a switch like the TT spoiler switch which has a dedicated circuit (outside posts) and then swap out the faceplate covers.

I chose option 2 and it was exrtremely easy to do. The mod just costs you an extra 20 bucks or so, but worth it. Now, it illuminates when I turn on the lights like the rest of my factory switches.

By the way, if you used the targa shade switch did you find one in glossy?

__________________

-Dell

2000 996 CAB (too many mods to list...I'm addicted)

2000 MB ML430 (one fast SUV)

1981 Datsun 280ZX (garage queen, Dad purchased new when I was 9,now mine, only 60K on the clock)

LVDell

View Public Profile

Send a private message to LVDell

Send email to LVDell

Find More Posts by LVDell

Add LVDell to Your Buddy List

Yesterday, 09:10 AM

#30

JimPDX

Addict

Rennlist Member

Join Date: Dec 2004

Location: Portland, Oregon

Posts: 855

________________________________________

Quote:

Originally Posted by LVDell

Darren, what switch did you use for the garage door? If you used the targa shade switch then I have a fix for you. It is not the switch that is bad, it is that it doesn't have a dedicated circuit like Jim said. You have 2 options. (1)become a expert quickly in electronic scematics and create the circuit after tearing the switch down......or (2)Buy a switch like the TT spoiler switch which has a dedicated circuit (outside posts) and then swap out the faceplate covers.

I chose option 2 and it was exrtremely easy to do. The mod just costs you an extra 20 bucks or so, but worth it. Now, it illuminates when I turn on the lights like the rest of my factory switches.

By the way, if you used the targa shade switch did you find one in glossy?

Hey Dell...the switch i used was the floor well light switch (996-613-980-00 about $30.00). The Targa shade switch only came in matte finish and I didn't want to **** with doing a glossy paint coat to match the other switches in my car

The footweel switch has two dedicated posts as you mention and running a line from the dedicated posts off the window pwr. switch did not illuninate the footwell switch for the door opener...any ideas...

JimPDX

View Public Profile

Send a private message to JimPDX

Find More Posts by JimPDX

Add JimPDX to Your Buddy List

Yesterday, 09:57 AM

#31

LVDell

Addict

Rennlist Member

Join Date: Oct 2003

Location: LV,NV & McLean, VA

Posts: 1,610

________________________________________

I used the FWL switch for my OBC hack and had the same prob.......

solution? I bought a TT spoiler switch and just used the FWL swithc cover on the TT switch (very easy to R&R). Works like a champ!

__________________

-Dell

2000 996 CAB (too many mods to list...I'm addicted)

2000 MB ML430 (one fast SUV)

1981 Datsun 280ZX (garage queen, Dad purchased new when I was 9,now mine, only 60K on the clock)

LVDell

View Public Profile

Send a private message to LVDell

Send email to LVDell

Find More Posts by LVDell

Add LVDell to Your Buddy List

Yesterday, 12:43 PM

#32

JimPDX

Addict

Rennlist Member

Join Date: Dec 2004

Location: Portland, Oregon

Posts: 855

________________________________________

OK Dell...whats a FWL?

Do you have p/numbers for the TT spoiler switch?

Seems to me, though I could be wrong, that the switch design for all switches that light up have the two posts on the end which mine does.

The cover on the switch really isn't that big of a deal. Its bringing power to it to light it. When I tied into the front window power source...the switch would not light.

JimPDX

View Public Profile

Send a private message to JimPDX

Find More Posts by JimPDX

Add JimPDX to Your Buddy List

Yesterday, 01:50 PM

#33

LVDell

Addict

Rennlist Member

Join Date: Oct 2003

Location: LV,NV & McLean, VA

Posts: 1,610

________________________________________

Sorry, FWL=Foot Well Light. I have scematics for the switches and they are not all the same. Some have dedicated circuits for light....others don't. This is the reason I went the route I did.

FWL (pic below)

996.613.980.00.A02(Gloss) A05 for Matte

TT

996.613.155.00.A02(Gloss) A05 for Matte

Attached Images

__________________

-Dell

2000 996 CAB (too many mods to list...I'm addicted)

2000 MB ML430 (one fast SUV)

1981 Datsun 280ZX (garage queen, Dad purchased new when I was 9,now mine, only 60K on the clock)

LVDell

View Public Profile

Send a private message to LVDell

Send email to LVDell

Find More Posts by LVDell

Add LVDell to Your Buddy List

Yesterday, 01:53 PM

#34

LVDell

Addict

Rennlist Member

Join Date: Oct 2003

Location: LV,NV & McLean, VA

Posts: 1,610

________________________________________

If you notice from the 2 that the FWL does NOT have a dedicated circuit like the TT swithc does (post 3 and 5).

Attached Files

liteswitch2.pdf (100.3 KB, 7 views)

spoilerswitch2.pdf (101.1 KB, 12 views)

__________________

-Dell

2000 996 CAB (too many mods to list...I'm addicted)

2000 MB ML430 (one fast SUV)

1981 Datsun 280ZX (garage queen, Dad purchased new when I was 9,now mine, only 60K on the clock)

LVDell

View Public Profile

Send a private message to LVDell

Send email to LVDell

Find More Posts by LVDell

Add LVDell to Your Buddy List

Yesterday, 02:03 PM

#35

LVDell

Addict

Rennlist Member

Join Date: Oct 2003

Location: LV,NV & McLean, VA

Posts: 1,610

________________________________________

Courtesy of Sandy and my conversation over on Renntech a while back:

As you can see on the FWL switch schematic, the switch is really designed to switch a positive voltage (+12v.) coming in on pin 4, not a ground, as is required for OBC operation. I say this because the anodes (black triangles) for the nite illumination LED and the amber annunciator LED are connected internally to that pin. For the LEDs to conduct and illuminate, the voltage on pins 3 & 5 must be more negative than the voltage on pin 4.

The internals of a FWL switch are typical of several other PAG switches. A couple of exceptions would be a convertible top switch and a 996TT spoiler control switch. Those switches have their LEDs isolated from their switch contacts, the way I did it to the FWL switch in my spoiler-extended light mod. By keeping the contacts isolated, the switch contacts can be wired to switch either +12v. OR a ground.

With a ground tied to pin 4, as would be the arrangement in the OBC mod., there's no way an unmodified FWL switch can have nite illumination with either a positive or negative dimming voltage line connected to the nite illumination LED cathode (pin 3).

So, how do you get nite illumination for your OBC switch without having to do some soldering work on a FWL switch?? Here's one solution you might want to try:

You can remove the cap (toggle) from your FWL switch, snap it onto the base of a 996TT spoiler switch body and use that combo to toggle your OBC, instead of using the FWL switch body. Also, anytime you need a "non-descript" switch that doesn't require an amber annunciator, you'll have one by performing this same task. You would then have a switch that has its LEDs isolated from its switch contacts. One thing though, you'll have to paint over, or cover up, the surfaces of the little clear plastic "lens" inside the FWL switch cap. This will keep the nite illumination LED beneath the lens from shining through the lens and looking like an illuminated annunciator light. The lens can be removed from the cap for painting as you can see in the image below.

Attached Images

__________________

-Dell

2000 996 CAB (too many mods to list...I'm addicted)

2000 MB ML430 (one fast SUV)

1981 Datsun 280ZX (garage queen, Dad purchased new when I was 9,now mine, only 60K on the clock)

LVDell

View Public Profile

Send a private message to LVDell

Send email to LVDell

Find More Posts by LVDell

Add LVDell to Your Buddy List

Yesterday, 02:05 PM

#36

LVDell

Addict

Rennlist Member

Join Date: Oct 2003

Location: LV,NV & McLean, VA

Posts: 1,610

________________________________________

One more.......

re: removal and switcheroo of the two tops

There are slots located on both sides of the switch body, just outboard of the toggle, at the toggles' pivot points. The slots are about 3/32" in length and the screwdriver blade should be just wide enough to fit into the slot. Push the blade straight down until it contacts the pivot of the toggle. Then, rotate the screwdriver slightly outward, away from the switch body. The toggle should rock out of its pivot hole and you should be able to lift it off.

There are a pair of indentations on each side of the toggle itself, which may have been designed for removing or installing the toggle, but trying to use them for this task will just result in getting the toggle scratched-up. BTW, before you start, you might want to wrap a piece of masking tape around the edge of the toggle to protect it. This will keep it from getting scratched by the screwdriver blade, in case you happen to slip while rotating the screwdriver outward.

The holes in the "tabs" on the switch body, into which the toggle pivots snap, are not the same size. The toggle will fit only one way, when put back onto the switch.

Attached Images

__________________

-Dell

2000 996 CAB (too many mods to list...I'm addicted)

2000 MB ML430 (one fast SUV)

1981 Datsun 280ZX (garage queen, Dad purchased new when I was 9,now mine, only 60K on the clock)

LVDell

View Public Profile

Send a private message to LVDell

Send email to LVDell

Find More Posts by LVDell

Add LVDell to Your Buddy List

Yesterday, 02:14 PM

#37

TD in DC

Addict

Rennlist Member

Join Date: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,544

________________________________________

LV Dell,

I am currently using the Targa shade switch because I need to control two separate garage door openers. Alas, it is not lit. If I have read the schematics correctly, I should be able to control two separate garage door openers with the TT switch AND light it. I can just pop off the cover and use it instead of the spoiler cover, correct?

TD

__________________

TD in DC

View Public Profile

Send a private message to TD in DC

Send email to TD in DC

Find More Posts by TD in DC

Add TD in DC to Your Buddy List

Yesterday, 02:43 PM

#38

LVDell

Addict

Rennlist Member

Join Date: Oct 2003

Location: LV,NV & McLean, VA

Posts: 1,610

________________________________________

Correct.....and just remember which side you toggle for which door. I was going to do the Targa shade swithc mod for my door but it only comes in matte and I need it in gloss.

My suggestion for you would be to buy a TT switch and then swap the covers with your targa shade switch (or whatever you are using for the garage door). By the way, what are you using for the mod since you have a targa switch employed for the actual targa top???

__________________

-Dell

2000 996 CAB (too many mods to list...I'm addicted)

2000 MB ML430 (one fast SUV)

1981 Datsun 280ZX (garage queen, Dad purchased new when I was 9,now mine, only 60K on the clock)

LVDell

View Public Profile

Send a private message to LVDell

Send email to LVDell

Find More Posts by LVDell

Add LVDell to Your Buddy List

Yesterday, 02:58 PM

#39

TD in DC

Addict

Rennlist Member

Join Date: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,544

________________________________________

Quote:

Originally Posted by LVDell

My suggestion for you would be to buy a TT switch and then swap the covers with your targa shade switch (or whatever you are using for the garage door). By the way, what are you using for the mod since you have a targa switch employed for the actual targa top???

I am using the targa shade switch upside down. Remember that the actual targa switch is below the nav unit on the "batwing" directly above the rear center console. The hacked targa shade switch is with the rest of the switches on the upper center console, and it is upside down. You don't really notice due to the distance . . . . Thanks for the info!

__________________

TD in DC

View Public Profile

Send a private message to TD in DC

Send email to TD in DC

Find More Posts by TD in DC

Add TD in DC to Your Buddy List

Yesterday, 03:01 PM

#40

LVDell

Addict

Rennlist Member

Join Date: Oct 2003

Location: LV,NV & McLean, VA

Posts: 1,610

________________________________________

No prob. Keep us posted!

__________________

-Dell

2000 996 CAB (too many mods to list...I'm addicted)

2000 MB ML430 (one fast SUV)

1981 Datsun 280ZX (garage queen, Dad purchased new when I was 9,now mine, only 60K on the clock)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

OK, I got it working. Pulling power for switch illumination off the PSM switch uses the center pin (#3) and one of the outer pins (#5). The power goes to the two outer pins (#1 and #5) on the Targa switch. And polarity does matter, so reverse them if it does not work the first time.

I sprayed the matte Targa switch with clear acrylic (4 lights coats) and it is a perfect match for the other glossy switches. This switch looks like a garage door that is open on once side and closed on the other. Not sure if that means I mounted it upside down, but it looks right to me.

Thank you for all the advice. I completed this just in the to store the car for the winter. :(

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.