Jump to content


Call for Donations - All new donations go towards our 2014 operating expenses. Please consider an ANNUAL donation to help keep this site operating. Click here to Donate

Photo

P2096 Post Catalytic Fuel Trim Bank 1 System Too Lean


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 smackboy1

smackboy1

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 77 posts
  • From:New Jersey, USA
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted January 21, 2008 - 09:05 AM

The CEL came on yesterday 10 minutes after startup. This is the code P2096 Post Catalytic Fuel Trim Bank 1 System Too Lean What is that and what should I do about it? Is that something to do with the O2 sensor on bank 1? Car's feels like it's running fine. I have an extended warranty that covers the emissions system but I have a $200 deductible. Thanks for any help.


  • 0
2003 Carrera Coupe Arctic Silver/Black
30+K miles
X74, SSK, PSE, RemoteTop, GT3 Seats, Carbon Fiber Up the Wazoo
235/40R18 285/30R18 Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD07
225/40R18 265/35R18 Pirelli WinterSports 240
Renewable Lubricants, Inc. Biosyn 5W40

Disclaimer: nothing written here shall constitute legal advice but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night

#2 Loren

Loren

    Porsche Nut

  • Admin
  • 28,145 posts
  • From:Roseville, CA
Reputation: 1,252
Outstanding

Posted January 21, 2008 - 01:35 PM

P2096 Signal Delay Time for Oxygen Sensor Ageing - Above Limit Possible fault cause - Oxygen sensor I would clear the code and see if it comes back. If it does replace the sensor.


  • 0

Loren

RennTech.org

PCA member since 1978

My Mods in the Registry


Has someone helped you with a good solution to your question(s)? If so, give them a reputation point by clicking the rep_up.png arrow at the bottom right corner of any post.


#3 smackboy1

smackboy1

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 77 posts
  • From:New Jersey, USA
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted January 21, 2008 - 02:57 PM

If it does replace the sensor.


Thanks Loren. Is replacing an O2 sensor a difficult job? Where is the aft O2 sensor, is there a DIY w/ photos? Or should I just take the car to the dealer/indy?
  • 0
2003 Carrera Coupe Arctic Silver/Black
30+K miles
X74, SSK, PSE, RemoteTop, GT3 Seats, Carbon Fiber Up the Wazoo
235/40R18 285/30R18 Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD07
225/40R18 265/35R18 Pirelli WinterSports 240
Renewable Lubricants, Inc. Biosyn 5W40

Disclaimer: nothing written here shall constitute legal advice but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night

#4 Loren

Loren

    Porsche Nut

  • Admin
  • 28,145 posts
  • From:Roseville, CA
Reputation: 1,252
Outstanding

Posted January 21, 2008 - 03:08 PM

Not too hard with the right O2 sensor socket. O2_late_carrera.gif 1 - Oxygen sensor ahead of catalytic converter 2 - Oxygen sensor after catalytic converter


  • 0

Loren

RennTech.org

PCA member since 1978

My Mods in the Registry


Has someone helped you with a good solution to your question(s)? If so, give them a reputation point by clicking the rep_up.png arrow at the bottom right corner of any post.


#5 smackboy1

smackboy1

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 77 posts
  • From:New Jersey, USA
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted January 21, 2008 - 04:55 PM

Not too hard with the right O2 sensor socket.

O2_late_carrera.gif
1 - Oxygen sensor ahead of catalytic converter
2 - Oxygen sensor after catalytic converter


Thanks Loren. Bank 1 are the driver's side (car's left) cylinders, correct? Which wire is attached to the #2 sensor, black sheathing or blue sheathing? It's really tight in there, what is the best way to gain access to the sensor and wire? Do I have to take off the bumper cover?
  • 0
2003 Carrera Coupe Arctic Silver/Black
30+K miles
X74, SSK, PSE, RemoteTop, GT3 Seats, Carbon Fiber Up the Wazoo
235/40R18 285/30R18 Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD07
225/40R18 265/35R18 Pirelli WinterSports 240
Renewable Lubricants, Inc. Biosyn 5W40

Disclaimer: nothing written here shall constitute legal advice but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night

#6 Loren

Loren

    Porsche Nut

  • Admin
  • 28,145 posts
  • From:Roseville, CA
Reputation: 1,252
Outstanding

Posted January 21, 2008 - 04:59 PM

I have not done this on a 3.6 yet but I doubt the bumper cover will need to come off. firing_order.gif


  • 0

Loren

RennTech.org

PCA member since 1978

My Mods in the Registry


Has someone helped you with a good solution to your question(s)? If so, give them a reputation point by clicking the rep_up.png arrow at the bottom right corner of any post.


#7 smackboy1

smackboy1

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 77 posts
  • From:New Jersey, USA
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted September 02, 2008 - 10:53 AM

P2096 Signal Delay Time for Oxygen Sensor Ageing - Above Limit
Possible fault cause
- Oxygen sensor

I would clear the code and see if it comes back.
If it does replace the sensor.


OK, the CEL just came back on and threw the same P2096 code. It took 8 months/5,000 miles to come back. Is this a sign that the sensor is bad or could it be bad gasoline. I use almost exclusively Shell. Then yesterday I filled the tank with Lukoil (the only time I've used Lukoil for this car) and 240 miles later, the CEL comes on.
  • 0
2003 Carrera Coupe Arctic Silver/Black
30+K miles
X74, SSK, PSE, RemoteTop, GT3 Seats, Carbon Fiber Up the Wazoo
235/40R18 285/30R18 Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD07
225/40R18 265/35R18 Pirelli WinterSports 240
Renewable Lubricants, Inc. Biosyn 5W40

Disclaimer: nothing written here shall constitute legal advice but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night

#8 RFM

RFM

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 3,404 posts
  • From:Belgium - Passendale - Flanders Fields
Reputation: 69
Excellent

Posted September 02, 2008 - 11:49 AM

Does what Loren suggest, if the fault comes back replace the sensor. Bank 2 runs on the same Lukoil after all.


  • 0
Life starts @ 7.000 RPM

#9 slbates

slbates

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 116 posts
  • From:Virginia
Reputation: 3
Neutral

Posted September 06, 2008 - 12:25 PM

You can access the o2 wires easily if you remove the airbox. This is easy to do. The o2 socket may not remove the sensor if it has been in there a long time. I had to replace 3 of the 4 sensors due to aging at 90k miles or so. The socket just rounded the corners on one of the sensors, but I was able to remove it with a 6" pipe wrench (don't laugh) with ease.

Attached Thumbnails

  • O2wrench.jpg

Edited by slbates, September 06, 2008 - 12:47 PM.

  • 0
996 GT3

#10 smackboy1

smackboy1

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 77 posts
  • From:New Jersey, USA
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted September 12, 2008 - 05:53 AM

I found a TSB from 2004 relating to P2096 in my model year car

http://www.renntech....a...load&id=607

I guess there was an software error in DME control module which can trigger a CEL even if the O2 sensor is fully operational.

So based on this information I'm thinking I should

1) Go to the dealer and get the updated DME software installed.
2) Wait and see if the P2096 code returns and if
a. if the code does not return, do nothing.
b. if the code returns, change out the O2 sensor.

Make sense?


  • 0
2003 Carrera Coupe Arctic Silver/Black
30+K miles
X74, SSK, PSE, RemoteTop, GT3 Seats, Carbon Fiber Up the Wazoo
235/40R18 285/30R18 Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD07
225/40R18 265/35R18 Pirelli WinterSports 240
Renewable Lubricants, Inc. Biosyn 5W40

Disclaimer: nothing written here shall constitute legal advice but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night

#11 Loren

Loren

    Porsche Nut

  • Admin
  • 28,145 posts
  • From:Roseville, CA
Reputation: 1,252
Outstanding

Posted September 12, 2008 - 05:55 AM

I found a TSB from 2004 relating to P2096 in my model year car

http://www.renntech....a...load&id=607

I guess there was an software error in DME control module which can trigger a CEL even if the O2 sensor is fully operational.

So based on this information I'm thinking I should

1) Go to the dealer and get the updated DME software installed.
2) Wait and see if the P2096 code returns and if
a. if the code does not return, do nothing.
b. if the code returns, change out the O2 sensor.

Make sense?

2a
  • 0

Loren

RennTech.org

PCA member since 1978

My Mods in the Registry


Has someone helped you with a good solution to your question(s)? If so, give them a reputation point by clicking the rep_up.png arrow at the bottom right corner of any post.


#12 smackboy1

smackboy1

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 77 posts
  • From:New Jersey, USA
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted September 16, 2008 - 08:21 AM

The saga continues... Took the car to the dealer to get the TSB DME update. The DME software would not allow the DME to be updated. The upshot is that the dealer is ordering a new DME and replacing the old one under the emissions warranty. The tech asked me if the DME had ever been flashed using 3rd party software. I've never done it but I'm the 2nd owner so anything is possible. Is there any way to know if the DME has ever been modded? Apart from the DME being defective, is there another reason why the software would reject an update?


  • 0
2003 Carrera Coupe Arctic Silver/Black
30+K miles
X74, SSK, PSE, RemoteTop, GT3 Seats, Carbon Fiber Up the Wazoo
235/40R18 285/30R18 Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD07
225/40R18 265/35R18 Pirelli WinterSports 240
Renewable Lubricants, Inc. Biosyn 5W40

Disclaimer: nothing written here shall constitute legal advice but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night

#13 Loren

Loren

    Porsche Nut

  • Admin
  • 28,145 posts
  • From:Roseville, CA
Reputation: 1,252
Outstanding

Posted September 16, 2008 - 09:02 AM

The saga continues...

Took the car to the dealer to get the TSB DME update. The DME software would not allow the DME to be updated. The upshot is that the dealer is ordering a new DME and replacing the old one under the emissions warranty.

The tech asked me if the DME had ever been flashed using 3rd party software. I've never done it but I'm the 2nd owner so anything is possible. Is there any way to know if the DME has ever been modded? Apart from the DME being defective, is there another reason why the software would reject an update?

On 2002 and newer cars the dealer can run a test with their PST2 or PIWIS and it will tell them if the DME has been changed.
PST2_2.png

We've seen a number of cars that you can not program - but because the model type was never entered in the DME section.
They might want to double check that before they order a DME.
Order_type_1.gif
  • 0

Loren

RennTech.org

PCA member since 1978

My Mods in the Registry


Has someone helped you with a good solution to your question(s)? If so, give them a reputation point by clicking the rep_up.png arrow at the bottom right corner of any post.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


The RennTech.org site is Member supported!   Make an ANNUAL donation to RennTech.org    Make an ANNUAL donation to RennTech.org