Jump to content


The RennTech.org site is Member supported! - All new donations will go towards our 2015 operating expenses. Please consider an ANNUAL donation to help keep this site operating. Click here to Donate

Photo

Engine and Transmission mount replacement


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 tt2001

tt2001

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 46 posts
  • From:Los Angeles USA
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted May 06, 2005 - 04:18 PM

My service shop tell me my '99 C2 enging is vibrating too much and the engine mount needs to be changes . After they changed two engine mounts, they found out the problem is comes from the transmission mount. They tried to order the parts form dealer and the dealer said parts are not available. Can some one give me an idea what are engine and transmission mounts? and where can get the right parts?


  • 0


Want to get rid of these ads? It's easy... just become a Contributing Member.  Donate here

#2 J9000

J9000

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 74 posts
  • From:California
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted May 07, 2005 - 06:49 AM

this reminds me my experiences with my dealer (or dealers). they kept fixing the wrong parts and broke my AC until I fed up and went to a local shop. Bob just fixed it with a $100 part. I think it's a way that dealer plays with you when they try to get you back to pay more or they simply are not capable of find the problem. find a local porsche specialist and have them take a look at it. dont guess what's going on unless you really know about it. In Silicon Valley, you can try Bob @ RMG. but looks like you are in LA. maybe someone can recommend you one.


  • 0
Signed Little John and Robin Hood
----------------------------------------------------------------------
2000 M5 (aswsome power and fit and finish)
1999 996 C2 (nice commuter, but can we fix the quality and squeaks?

#3 tt2001

tt2001

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 46 posts
  • From:Los Angeles USA
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted May 10, 2005 - 11:48 AM

My shop shown me the damaged part: which is the mounting between the transmission with the chassis. inside the mount has rubber brushing to absolve the vibration/movement. The rubber brushing inside was broken so caused the engine+transmission vibrated. They also shown me a taken down Boxster engine, which use the same mounting part between the engine and transmission, also the same thing, the rubber broken inside. Dose any one has the some type of problem? how to obtain the replacement parts? Any feedback will be highly appreciate.


  • 0

#4 Coaster

Coaster

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 35 posts
  • From:Dana Point, CA
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted May 10, 2005 - 02:39 PM

So, your service shop called a local dealer for the transmission mounts and the dealer said that "the parts are not available"? Does that mean that the dealer does not have them in stock, or that you can't even order the parts from Porsche? The latter seems strange for something as simple as a mount so it's probably the former. I'd clarify with your shop what "the parts are not available" means and get the part numbers. You can call around to other dealers and see if anyone has them in stock or can order them (try board sponsor Sunset Imports). In the rare case that the parts cannot be ordered, you could try a dismantler and get used parts off a low mileage 996 or Boxster (if the parts are the same) -- someone like LA Porsche (www.laporsche.com 818-767-7243).


  • 0
2003 996 C2 Cab, SG/GG

#5 tt2001

tt2001

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 46 posts
  • From:Los Angeles USA
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted May 10, 2005 - 04:42 PM

So, your service shop called a local dealer for the transmission mounts and the dealer said that "the parts are not available"?  Does that mean that the dealer does not have them in stock, or that you can't even order the parts from Porsche?  The latter seems strange for something as simple as a mount so it's probably the former.

I'd clarify with your shop what "the parts are not available" means and get the part numbers.  You can call around to other dealers and see if anyone has them in stock or can order them (try board sponsor Sunset Imports).  In the rare case that the parts cannot be ordered, you could try a dismantler and get used parts off a low mileage 996 or Boxster (if the parts are the same) -- someone like LA Porsche (www.laporsche.com  818-767-7243).


Thank you Coaster, according they told me the mount brushing is part of transmission, if the car under warranty, Porsche will replace the whole transmission. There is no parts number for it alone. I just don't know how true it is.
Thank you for your input , I will try what you say. I might taking a picture for the broken piece and post it again.
  • 0

#6 Loren

Loren

    Porsche Nut

  • Admin
  • 28,566 posts
  • From:Roseville, CA
Reputation: 1,305
Outstanding

Posted May 10, 2005 - 05:07 PM

I think you are talking about the only mount at the rear of the transmission. There is no single part listing in my parts list either. It looks to to be pressed in at the least. carrera_6sp.jpg

- Zoom Active -

  • 0

Loren

RennTech.org

PCA member since 1978

My Mods in the Registry


Has someone helped you with a good solution to your question(s)? If so, give them a reputation point by clicking the rep_up.png arrow at the bottom right corner of any post.


#7 1999Porsche911

1999Porsche911

    Member

  • Members
  • 930 posts
Reputation: 2
Neutral

Posted May 11, 2005 - 05:04 AM

How much does the engine vibrate? Can't imagine not being able to confirm if it is the mount (unlikely) or not. The area of the suspected bad mount can be easily secured mechanically to see if the vibration goes away. Is the vibration at speed or at idle or both?


Edited by 1999Porsche911, May 11, 2005 - 05:04 AM.

  • 0

#8 tt2001

tt2001

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 46 posts
  • From:Los Angeles USA
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted May 11, 2005 - 09:50 AM

Loren, thank you for your nice picture. Please see these pictures for the detail. 1. The end transmission mount 2. Broken robber inside the bushing. 3. A Boxster parts, you have to buy the whole set (bracket + the mount) and press out the mount unit to use it in my 996. The robber in bushing is very easily broken which will cause the Engine and transmission vibrate and more damage can be happen if ignore this problem. Porsche should do something improvement. And they should make this parts available.

Attached Thumbnails

  • bushing1.jpg
    - Zoom Active -
  • bushing3.jpg
    - Zoom Active -
  • bushing4.jpg
    - Zoom Active -

  • 0

#9 Loren

Loren

    Porsche Nut

  • Admin
  • 28,566 posts
  • From:Roseville, CA
Reputation: 1,305
Outstanding

Posted May 11, 2005 - 10:30 AM

I wonder if that was damaged in a previous repair? Like a an RMS repair where they take the transmission out to get to the RMS. Hmm... :unsure:


  • 0

Loren

RennTech.org

PCA member since 1978

My Mods in the Registry


Has someone helped you with a good solution to your question(s)? If so, give them a reputation point by clicking the rep_up.png arrow at the bottom right corner of any post.


#10 Tool Pants

Tool Pants

    Boxsternaut

  • Moderators
  • 5,029 posts
  • From:San Jose
Reputation: 21
Excellent

Posted May 14, 2005 - 04:34 PM

This is interesting. Us Box owners do not have this issue. We get the housing with the rubber bushing - except on our cars it is an engine mount - not transmission. So after the tech session at an independent shop today I went by the local dealer on the way home. 2 of the mechanics I know where there doing their personal stuff in the shop. Both said they have replaced this mount on a 996, but it was not pounded out of a Box engine mount and put in a 996 transmission. Then one of the mechanics went on the parts computer and could not find a 996 transmission mount, just like Loren said. The other mechanic thought this part was sold as an aftermarket part. It might be hard to understand but there is a 'back' parts department at my local dealer that you never see as a customer. A mechanic needs a part and the back parts person gives it to him. The mechanic does not pay attention to where the part comes from or the number since that is not his job.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1_28_051.jpg
    - Zoom Active -

  • 0

#11 Foster

Foster

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 85 posts
  • From:Sarasota FL
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted January 01, 2009 - 02:14 PM

The #s on mine are;

On one side
986=996
133 135
98637505700

On the other side
99637505505

Jeff at Sunset was unable to find the part # in the catalog and didn't have one in stock to look at.
He ordered 99637505505 and offered to send me the specs and pics before he ships it to me just in case.

Here's my real problem. I didn't anticipate needing to replace this when I dropped the transmission.

So I didn't jack the car up high enough to get the gbox out from under the car. So I'm going to have to lift it
off the jack while under the car, slide it out, cart it to a shop, have them press in the mount, then lift it back on the
jack while under the car, and try to realign everything.

Did I mention I have noone around I feel comfortable asking to help me with this? I've disassembled myself into a corner.

My other option is to roam arount Home Depot and try to build some kind of tool to pull the mount in while under the car.
Or use my big metric hammer, and hope I don't destroy it.

Anyone ever replace one of these without using a press? :help:

Picture_043.jpg

- Zoom Active -

  • 0
2000 C2 Cab 6spd

#12 MagnusB

MagnusB

    Member

  • Members
  • 52 posts
  • From:East Bay
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted January 02, 2009 - 07:53 AM

Is this mount easily visible without disassembling anything? I just want to make sure it's in good order.


Edited by MagnusB, January 02, 2009 - 07:53 AM.

  • 0

#13 Foster

Foster

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 85 posts
  • From:Sarasota FL
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted January 02, 2009 - 12:48 PM

Yes and no. If you jack the car up and get your face right up to it and fold back the soft rubber gasket things you can see most of it. If it's completely broken you'd be able to see it. Notice the picture of the broken one with the screw driver. In order to say for certain that it's not split you'd probably need to do that on both sides. The drivers side of mine looks fine, but if you pry on the passenger side you can see the front side is split nearly all the way through.


  • 0
2000 C2 Cab 6spd

#14 996noob

996noob

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 248 posts
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted July 15, 2009 - 07:02 AM

My service shop tell me my '99 C2 enging is vibrating too much and the engine mount needs to be changes . After they changed two engine mounts, they found out
the problem is comes from the transmission mount. They tried to order the parts form dealer and the dealer said parts are not available. Can some one give me an idea what are engine and transmission mounts? and where can get the right parts?


Does anyone know if the tranmission mount mentioned in this thread (part #996 375 055 05) is applicable for both Manual and Tiptronic transmissions?

My car is an early Tiptronic and the mounting isn't in good shape. I couldn't find the part number for the mounting until I came across this thread. However, correct me if I am wrong, the original poster is driving a Manual. If the part number is the same for both versions, that would be great news, I could then buy one quickly and resolve my transmission mount problem.

Thanks in advance!
  • 0

#15 logray

logray

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 2,203 posts
  • From:Nor Cal
Reputation: 111
Outstanding

Posted November 04, 2009 - 08:05 AM

I replaced my 99' C2 motor mounts last night. About a 30 minute job. Very easy. And yes, I used the motor as a jacking point while replacing each mount. This drastically helped damper the vibrations, nearly entirely present at warm idle. Manual shifting smoothness is also much improved!!! However there is still a little bit of residual vibration. I'm not sure if it's enough to worry about at this point. I looked at the tranny mount and poked around with it but couldn't determine if it was bad. Visibly with the car started I could see a very slight vibration and the mount appeared to be doing it's job of "soaking it up". Any way to test the tranny mount without removing the transmission (and mount)?


  • 0

#16 carsareart

carsareart

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 75 posts
  • From:Oklahoma, Texas
Reputation: 0
Neutral

Posted November 09, 2009 - 09:15 PM

Interesting, I have noticed a slight drop in one of my exhaust tips. I will be checking exhaust and engine mounts. Is there a DIY on the replacement of the motor mounts. I have tried searching with no luck. 99 C2 Tip


  • 0

#17 Loren

Loren

    Porsche Nut

  • Admin
  • 28,566 posts
  • From:Roseville, CA
Reputation: 1,305
Outstanding

Posted November 09, 2009 - 09:17 PM

Interesting, I have noticed a slight drop in one of my exhaust tips. I will be checking exhaust and engine mounts. Is there a DIY on the replacement of the motor mounts. I have tried searching with no luck.
99 C2 Tip

Are you sure the tailpipe is not just mis-adjusted or came loose. Fairly common.
  • 0

Loren

RennTech.org

PCA member since 1978

My Mods in the Registry


Has someone helped you with a good solution to your question(s)? If so, give them a reputation point by clicking the rep_up.png arrow at the bottom right corner of any post.


#18 bmohr

bmohr

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 255 posts
  • From:Annapolis MD
Reputation: 1
Neutral

Posted November 10, 2009 - 06:30 AM

when my engine mounts started failing i too had one side of my exhaust hang lower. Replaced and they evened up.


  • 0

#19 logray

logray

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 2,203 posts
  • From:Nor Cal
Reputation: 111
Outstanding

Posted November 10, 2009 - 07:32 AM

Should the torque on the main lower nut for the motor mount be 64lbs?


  • 0

#20 rockjock

rockjock

    Contributing Member

  • Contributing Members
  • 45 posts
  • From:Minneapolis
Reputation: 1
Neutral

Posted November 10, 2009 - 10:22 AM

63 FT/lbs is what my PET shows.....


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Want to get rid of these ads? It's easy... just become a Contributing Member.  Donate here


The RennTech.org site is Member supported!   Make an ANNUAL donation to RennTech.org    Make an ANNUAL donation to RennTech.org